---
title: "Wood Fencing in Brewster, NY: Height Limits, Permits and Cost"
description: "Wood fence rules in Brewster, NY: village and Town of Southeast height limits, permit fees, rock under the posts, post treatment and published cedar prices."
url: "https://portillo-fences.com/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/"
lang: "en"
published: "2026-10-01"
modified: "2026-10-01"
tags: ["Wood Fencing","Brewster NY","Fence Permits"]
image: "https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/featured.jpg"
---

![Wood Fencing in Brewster, NY: Height Limits, Permits and Cost](https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/featured.jpg)

Fence & Gate Blog

# Wood Fencing in Brewster, NY: Height Limits, Permits and Cost

Wood fence rules in Brewster, NY: village and Town of Southeast height limits, permit fees, rock under the posts, post treatment and published cedar prices.

[Get a Free Estimate](https://portillo-fences.com/contact-us/) [(845) 282-3336](tel:+18452823336)

October 1, 2026

- Wood Fencing
- Brewster NY
- Fence Permits

A [wood fence](https://portillo-fences.com/wood-fencing/) in [Brewster](https://portillo-fences.com/brewster-ny/) tops out at 4 feet in a village front yard and 6 feet in a rear yard, while the Town of Southeast allows 3 feet along any lot line and 6 feet behind the required front yard. Which set of numbers applies depends on the parcel. Inside the Village of Brewster the Village Code Enforcement Officer issues the permit, and in the unincorporated part of the Town, which includes Brewster Hill, Dykemans and Deans Corners, the Town Building Inspector does, whatever the mailing address says.

Both places require a permit before the first post goes in. The village adds a rule about which side of the boards faces the street, and the ground under both is rockier than a flat-lot price assumes.

![Wood stakes and string marking a proposed fence line along a wooded, sloped back yard](https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/stakes-on-sloped-lot-line.jpg)

The Village limits a rear-yard fence to 6 feet, and the Town allows 6 feet only behind the required front yard.

## Key Takeaways

Village limits

4 feet in a front yard or a side yard in front of the building line, 6 feet in a rear yard or a side yard behind it

Town limits

3 feet along any lot line, 6 feet behind the required front yard, and up to 10 feet only when set back two-thirds of the required setback

Finished side out

the Village requires the finished side to face away from the lot; the Town's fence article does not state it

Town permit fees

$150 under $10,000 and $330 from $10,000 to $30,000, with no separate fence line in the 2026 schedule

Rock is likely

Putnam County soil units around Brewster include shallow bedrock, rock outcrop and extreme stoniness

Price range

$44 to $87 per linear foot installed for a 6-foot cedar privacy fence in New York, per Suparate's 2026 figures

## Which office, and what it asks for

The Village office is at 50 Main Street, (845) 279-3760, open Monday through Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and closed Friday. Village Code Chapter 263 requires a permit before fence work begins and an inspection of the finished fence. The Town Building Department is at 1 Main Street, (845) 279-2123, open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., with applications accepted until 4:00 p.m. Town Code Chapter 138 requires the permit from the Building Inspector.

The Town application lists the applicant's and owner's names, addresses and phone numbers, the property location, scaled plan and elevation drawings for a new fence, a description of placement and appearance, and the fence's position relative to buildings and property lines. Written owner consent or a copy of the contract is required when the applicant is not the owner. The cited fence provision asks for scaled drawings and does not specifically require a survey. The Village's permit instructions list a property survey for fences, so ask the Village office whether a survey or a plot plan satisfies it for your lot.

## Heights, finished side and corner lots

The Village applies one set of numbers across the whole village, with no separate limits by zoning district: 4 feet in a front yard or a side yard in front of the building line, 6 feet in a rear yard or a side yard behind it. The Village does not set a separate fence setback from the property line, and its yard setbacks do not apply to fences. The finished side must face outward, away from the interior of the lot.

The Town measures by lot line. A fence may be 3 feet high along any lot line and 6 feet along the part of a lot line behind the required front yard. A fence over 6 feet can reach 10 feet only when it sits back from the lot line by two-thirds of the required setback. At a street intersection, nothing over 3 feet may stand inside the triangular sight-distance area in Section 138-26. A corner lot has a front yard and front setback from each street line, and the site plan names the remaining yards as side and rear. The same 3-foot and 6-foot rules apply in every residential district, while the required front-yard depth changes with the district.

## Fees, inspections and timing

For a Town property the 2026 fee schedule lists:

- **Project under $10,000**: $150
- **Project from $10,000 to $30,000**: $330
- **Project over $30,000**: $330 plus $6 per thousand
- **Re-inspection or no-show**: $75
- **Credit card payments**: a 2.5% convenience fee, effective May 8, 2026

There is no line named [residential fence](https://portillo-fences.com/residential-fencing/) permit, so the Building Department classifies the fence by project value. Residential fences in residential districts are exempt from Architectural Review Board review. The Building Inspector examines the plans and the premises, and inspections happen at required construction intervals. Ask the inspector which inspection comes before the concrete is poured, and how long a permit takes at the moment you apply. The Village fee schedule dated April 4, 2019 lists $100 for fences and walls over 36 inches, and the Village has since posted a revised schedule, so confirm the current fee and review time with the Code Enforcement Officer.

## Rock, stone and shallow bedrock under the posts

Putnam County's soil survey names Charlton-Chatfield and Chatfield-Charlton complexes labelled very rocky, Chatfield-Hollis-Rock outcrop complexes and Hollis-Chatfield-Rock outcrop complexes. A Chatfield soil typically hits a restrictive layer at about 20 to 41 inches. Hollis-Chatfield-Rock outcrop complexes include exposed bedrock and extremely stony ground. Charlton soils run deeper, though a mapped complex can still hold rocky or shallow pockets. The survey also names a frequently flooded unit along low river and stream areas. Conditions can differ between the compact village core and the wooded, sloped ground around [Brewster](https://portillo-fences.com/brewster-ny/) Hill and Dykemans.

A soil map flags risk, and the depth at any single post still has to be found by probing. The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service fence standard says a post hole can be drilled into rock and the post grouted, and it recommends probing post locations where rock is shallow. Ledge can also mean hand excavation, a changed post location or an anchoring detail approved by the authority. Run your parcel through USDA Web Soil Survey, and ask the Building Inspector for the footing depth before anyone digs, especially if a hole hits ledge. Our [frost depth guide](https://portillo-fences.com/blog/frost-depth-fence-posts-hudson-valley/) explains why the number is local.

![A crew member hand-excavating a post hole beside exposed bedrock along a staked fence line](https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/post-hole-beside-ledge.jpg)

A Chatfield soil typically reaches a restrictive layer at about 20 to 41 inches, so rock drilling can be part of a post hole.

## Post treatment and how long wood lasts

Buried posts should be specified for ground contact, and the product label and treatment category are worth confirming:

- **AWPA UC4A**: ground contact, general use, with fence posts listed as an example
- **AWPA UC4B**: ground contact, heavy duty, for severe environments or critically important components
- **Untreated pine posts**: about 3 to 6 years in the Midwest and Northeast, per the USDA Forest Products Laboratory
- **Pressure-treated pine posts**: 30 to 40 years anywhere in the United States, according to the same laboratory, with that figure drawn from field tests
- **Untreated red cedar heartwood**: about 15 to 25 years in a USDA Forest Service table, with species, heartwood content, moisture, soil and maintenance all affecting the result

The Forest Products Laboratory recommends in-depth preservative treatment for below-ground use, preferably by pressure.

![Pressure-treated posts with ground-contact tags stacked beside cedar rails and pickets](https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/treated-posts-and-cedar-rails.jpg)

AWPA UC4A is the general-use ground-contact category for fence posts, and UC4B is the heavy-duty one.

## What published wood fence prices say

Each range below keeps its own scope. They disagree on whether cedar or pressure-treated pine costs more installed, so the quote should name species, grade, height and post treatment.

## Published wood fence prices per linear foot, by source

Installed price: $44 to $87

Source and scope: Suparate, 2026, statewide; national average $30 to $60

Tap a row to open it.

Site conditions add to those figures. Published adjustments include:

- **Slope**: 10% to 20% more labor for stepped or raked panels in Ace Handyman Services' 2026 guide, 10% to 25% in another 2026 estimate
- **Rocky or hard-digging soil**: 25% to 50% more labor where hand digging or rock breakers are needed
- **Rocky or root-bound digging**: about $50 to $150 per post in one national 2026 guide
- **Tight access**: 15% to 25% more where materials are hand-carried
- **Tree clearing**: $200 to $1,500, depending on density
- **Old fence removal**: $3 to $8 per linear foot from Ace Handyman, $3 to $5 from TallyTakeoff

That national guide also counts 36- to 48-inch footings in cold climates as a cost driver, and the [Brewster](https://portillo-fences.com/brewster-ny/) depth comes from the Building Inspector. For vinyl, see our [Brewster vinyl privacy fence guide](https://portillo-fences.com/blog/vinyl-privacy-fence-installation-near-me-in-brewster-ny/).

![A finished cedar privacy fence along a Brewster back yard with the finished face turned outward](https://portillo-fences.com/images/blog/wood-fencing-brewster-ny/finished-cedar-privacy-fence.jpg)

The Village requires the finished side to face outward, away from the interior of the lot.

**Quiz: Check yourself**

1. What is the Village of Brewster's maximum fence height in a rear yard?
   - 4 feet
   - 6 feet **(correct answer)**
   - 10 feet
2. How high may a fence be along any lot line in the Town of Southeast?
   - 6 feet
   - 4 feet
   - 3 feet **(correct answer)**
3. Which AWPA category is ground contact, general use?
   - UC4A **(correct answer)**
   - UC4B
   - U1
4. How long do untreated pine posts last in the Midwest and Northeast, per the USDA Forest Products Laboratory?
   - 15 to 25 years
   - 30 to 40 years
   - About 3 to 6 years **(correct answer)**

## Frequently Asked Questions

**Q: Which side of the fence faces the street?** A: The Village requires the finished side to face outward, away from the interior of the lot. The Town's fence article does not state a finished-side rule, so show the appearance on your application.

**Q: Do I need a permit for a wood fence in Brewster?** A: Yes in both places. The Village Code Enforcement Officer issues it inside the village, and the Town Building Inspector issues it in the rest of Southeast.

**Q: How deep should the posts go?** A: Ask the Village or Town inspector for the footing depth at your address before excavation. New York leaves frost depth to each municipality.

**Q: What if we hit rock?** A: The USDA fence standard allows drilling into the rock and grouting the post. Ask the inspector whether the site needs a different anchoring detail.

**Q: Which wood is best for the posts?** A: Specify posts for ground contact, usually AWPA UC4A, and read the treatment category off the product label. UC4B is the heavier-duty category.

**Q: What does the Town charge for a fence permit?** A: The 2026 schedule has no fence-only line. A project under $10,000 is listed at $150, and the Building Department classifies yours by value.

Wood fence quotes line up best when each lists species, grade, height, post treatment, [gates](https://portillo-fences.com/gates/), removal, access and what the excavation will meet. Settle which office issues the permit and which height limit applies before the stakes go in.

At [Portillo Fences and Gates](https://portillo-fences.com/), we install wood fencing across Putnam, Westchester, Dutchess, Orange, Ulster and Rockland Counties, including [wood fencing](https://portillo-fences.com/wood-fencing/), [residential fencing](https://portillo-fences.com/residential-fencing/), [gate installation](https://portillo-fences.com/gate-installation/) and [fence repair](https://portillo-fences.com/fence-repair/). [Contact us](https://portillo-fences.com/contact-us/) for a free estimate, or call [(845) 282-3336](tel:+18452823336).

## Ready to talk through your project?

Get a free estimate from a licensed, insured Hudson Valley fence and gate team.

[Get a Free Estimate](https://portillo-fences.com/contact-us/)[Call (845) 282-3336](tel:+18452823336)
